Use the Hopin Mobile App for Networking (iOS)

  • Updated

1.jpg

Now that you have installed the Hopin Mobile App for iOS/iPadOS and learned how to navigate around, it's time to check out how to use it in the Networking section of an event. You can also check out how to use the app for Sessions and Expo Booths.

Current limitations

The Hopin mobile app is the only recommended way for speakers/attendees with no access to a desktop or laptop computer to go on screen with audio and video on iOS/iPadOS, using Safari is not supported. This only works for Networking, Sessions, and Expo Booths (as Sessions), it isn't possible to go on-screen on the backstage/stage and we have no ETA on when that will be possible. The Slido functionality is also currently not available as well as other integrations - Snapbar, Interprefy, Twitter, etc.
Note: The Connect feature in Networking is not yet implemented in our Mobile Apps so it will not work.

Please note the app only provides basic functionality at this time and it is aimed mainly at attendees, we strongly advise whenever possible to use a desktop or laptop computer to enjoy the full Hopin experience and functionality.

Additionally, event registration cannot be done within the app at the moment. Only events that you have registered for will be listed on your welcome screen. If you are not registered for an event, you will need to access the event’s registration page with a web browser on any device. Please follow the advice in this article in regards to supported browsers/devices for our website.

How to use Networking

Once you have entered an event you can access the Networking section either from the app sidebar or by clicking on the Networking button under 'Explore' when in 'Reception'.

SideBar.png                                          ExploreNetworking.png

You will then be presented with the following screen, simply click the 'Start networking' button.

StartNetworking.png

Then click 'Allow Camera and Microphone' to grant the app permission to use your device camera and microphone.

JoinNetworking.png

Click 'OK' to allow access to the camera.

AllowCamera.png

Click 'OK' to allow access to the microphone.

AllowMic.png

You are now able to be matched with another attendee live on camera.

WaitForMatch.png

If no one is available you will be presented with a prompt giving you the option to 'Leave Networking' or to keep trying for a match if you select the 'X' button in the same prompt.

NoOneAvailable.png

Once a match is found, you are presented with the user profile picture, name, headline (if present), and you have the option to 'Join meeting' or 'Skip'. Click 'Join meeting' to go ahead or 'Skip' if you want to be matched with someone else.

JoinMeeting.png

NOTE: You can only be matched with the same person once during the event duration, even if it lasts multiple days.

Once you hit 'Join meeting' you'll be able to see the other participant on screen.

Joined.png

Here you can disable the camera, microphone, and even leave the meeting by clicking one of the three buttons on the top right at any time. From the left, they are: camera, microphone, and leave meeting.

Buttons.png

You can also see a timer under the user name measuring how long before the meeting ends.

timer.png

 

Once you have finished messaging you can click the 'back arrow' at the top left then swipe down to close the chat and go back to the live meeting.

NOTE: If you are connected via WiFi and there are others on the same network during the event you will be prompted to allow the app to discover and connect to video participants on the same network when possible. Here you have the option to click 'OK' if you wish so or 'Don't Allow' to skip. This option could be useful when participating to in-person or 'hybrid' events, for example, if wanting to connect with someone who is also physically present at the event. Later on, the participants could arrange to meet for an in-person coffee/lunch if they wanted to. 

WiFiNetwork.png

When approaching the end of the meeting, a pop-up will prompt you to 'Extend meeting' if you wish, otherwise simply click the 'X' button in the same prompt to skip.

TimeIsUp.png

Once the timer reaches zero the meeting will end automatically and you'll be put in the queue to join another meeting with a new participant, and so on. This will continue until there are no participants left to match with or you leave the networking area by clicking the 'X' button at the top right. 

LeaveNetworking.png

If you experience any issues with your microphone or camera during Networking please check out our iOS/iPadOS troubleshooting guide.

 

Feel free to reach out to us at support@hopin.com in case you have questions or need assistance.

Was this article helpful?