Why is my screen share button greyed out on the Backstage or Session?

  • Updated

Attendees_etc.jpg

Backstage

For the backstage, only one person can share their screen per time. With one person using the screen share option, the screen share icon will be greyed out for the other presenters/speakers.

Note: If you have 4 speakers on the backstage and one of them decides to share their screen, the screen share will be counted as the 5th person. For example, if 5 speakers are live on the backstage the screen share button will be greyed out unless one of them leaves to allow one of the speakers to use the screen share.

Session

If the screen share button is greyed out in a session:

  • Ensure you are connecting to the event using a computer as screen sharing is not supported on iPads and other mobile devices.
  • Ensure you are using the updated versions of Chrome or Firefox.
  • Check to see if the maximum number of participants has been reached. If it has been reached, the screen share button will be greyed out as a screen share is counted as a participant.
  • If using macOS, follow this guide for further troubleshooting.

Note: Since the maximum number of speakers (sharing audio and video) allowed in a session is 20, if you have 19 speakers in a session and one of them decides to share their screen, the screen share will be counted as the 20th person. 

 

Feel free to reach out to us at support@hopin.com in case you have questions or need assistance.

Was this article helpful?