Networking FAQs

  • Updated

Frequently asked questions about Networking

Check out our detailed article on Networking to learn more about how it works.

Q: What is Networking and how does it work?

A: The Networking area is the place for automated one-on-one meetings and is Hopin’s way of facilitating connection discovery at an event. In the networking segment, when someone clicks the Ready button, the system automatically pairs you up with someone else who has also clicked the Ready button. This match is paired randomly. If both parties are available, the two are matched instantly and the video chat begins and lasts for a preset amount of time set by the organisers. 

Q: How many times can an attendee be paired in networking during an event?

A: As long as you enable the networking feature for your event, attendees are able to pair with other attendees as many times as possible during the event.

Q: How do I network with specific people?

A: The Networking area is random, so you are not able to pick who you are paired with. However, you can create 1:1 meetings with whoever you like. By going to the 'People' tab of the event, find the person you would like to connect with and click the invite to video call button.

Q: I would like to set up networking by ticket types. Is this possible?

A: Yes! While setting up Networking for your event, you can program Hopin to match certain ticket holders with other certain ticket holders only (e.g., “job seekers” with “Employers”).

Q: How long does one networking meeting last?

A: The default duration for one meeting is 30seconds as the minimum and 180 seconds as the maximum. However, these numbers can be changed. Organizers can set any duration for the minimum and maximum while setting up the networking segment.

Q: What if I want to extend the meeting, can I do that?

A: Absolutely! Users are able to extend the meeting by clicking the Extend button. As the button is clicked, the other participant will receive a notification to confirm if they wish to extend the meeting. The extra time equals the default time of the Networking set by the Organizer on the Networking Settings tab.

Q: Are attendees able to use networking at any time during the event?

A: As long as the networking segment is enabled for your event, attendees are able to access it at any time.

Q: What if I want to restrict when people network during the event? Is this possible?

A: The best way to handle this is to disable the networking feature and then re-enable it during the time you’d like your attendees to access it. You can also create a schedule with the networking segment. The schedule is then displayed on the registration and reception pages for the attendees to know what's happening per time. Also, for every scheduled segment, a 'NOW' way-finder is displayed boldly at the segment area for the attendees to know where and what's happening.

Q: Can I meet the same person twice in networking?

A: The system won't allow you to meet with the same person twice. If you'd like to meet the same person, you can search up their name through the People tab within the event and schedule a meeting.

Q: Can only the networking feature be used for an event?

A: Absolutely! You have the option to disable any of the main event segments (Stage, Sessions, Networking and Expo) through your event dashboard. You can do this anytime before or during the event. Attendees will need to do a quick refresh if the area is enabled/disabled during the event. 

 

Feel free to reach out to us at support@hopin.com in case you have questions or need assistance.

 

 

Was this article helpful?