Now that you have installed the Hopin Mobile App for Android and learned how to navigate around it's time to check out how to use it in the Networking section of an event.
NOTE: The only segment that users are able to share their audio and video within the app is in Networking.
How to use Networking on Android
Once you have entered an event you can access the Networking section either from the app sidebar or by clicking on the Networking button under 'Explore' when in 'Reception'.
You will then be presented with the following screen, simply click the 'Start networking' button.
Then click 'Allow Camera and Microphone' to grant the required app permissions.
Click 'Allow' to grant access to the camera.
Click 'Allow' to grant access to the microphone.
This will allow you to join the meeting with both your camera and microphone.
You are now able to be matched with another attendee live on camera.
If no one is available you will be presented with a prompt giving you the option to 'Leave Networking' or to keep trying for a match if you select the 'X' button in the same prompt.
Once a match is found, the screen will display 'Connecting...' and you are presented with the user name of your match at the bottom left. If you wish to skip this match you can click on the 'X' button on the top right. You will then be redirected to a new 'Start Networking' session, as above. You can also 'Report' the user if you wish with the button at the bottom right.
NOTE: You can only be matched with the same person once during the event duration, even if it lasts multiple days.
Once the meeting starts you'll be able to see the other participant on screen.
Here you can disable the camera, microphone, and even leave the meeting by clicking one of the three buttons on the top right at any time. From the left, they are: camera, microphone, and leave meeting.
You can also see a timer under the user name measuring how long before the meeting ends.
When approaching the end of the meeting, a pop-up will prompt to 'Extend meeting' if you wish, otherwise simply click the 'X' button in the same prompt to skip.
Once the timer reaches zero the meeting will end automatically and you'll be put in the queue to join another meeting with a new match, and so on. This will continue until there are no participants left to match with or you leave the networking area by clicking the 'X' button at the top right.
If you experience any issues with your microphone or camera during Networking please check out our Android troubleshooting guide.
Feel free to reach out to us at email@example.com in case you have questions or need assistance.